Meeting of: COMMON COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF STOUGHTON

Date/Time: August 28, 2018 @ 7:00 p.m.

Location: Council Chambers (2nd Floor of Public Safety Building)

321 South Fourth Street, Stoughton, Wisconsin

Members: Mayor Tim Swadley, Matt Bartlett, Sid Boersma, Phil Caravello, Denise

Duranczyk, Regina Hirsch, Greg Jenson, Kathleen Johnson, Tom Majewski,

Pat O'Connor, Lisa Reeves, Timothy Riley and Nicole Wiessinger

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Swadley called the meeting to order at 7:03 p.m.

Roll Call, Communications, and Presentations:

Clerk Licht called the roll and noted that there were 11 alderpersons present. Wiessinger was absent and excused.

Boersma announced that the ad hoc committee had approved a mission statement and is moving towards retaining young families in Wisconsin.

Mayor Swadley noted the Proclamation for Chamber of Commerce Month.

Julia Sherman from the Wisconsin Alcohol Policy Project presented on behalf of the Stoughton Wellness Coalition.

Minutes and Reports: the following minutes were entered into the record.

Library Board (7/8/2018); RDA (7/11/2018); Food Pantry Committee (7/17/2018); Planning Commission (7/9/2018); Utilities Committee (7/16/2018); Public Works Committee (7/17/2018); Tree Commission (7/19/2018)

Public Comment Period:

None

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. August 15, 2018 Council minutes
- B. <u>R-154-2018</u> Resolution Authorizing and directing the proper city official(s) to issue Operator Licenses to various applicants.
- C. Stoughton Utilities Payments due List, Stoughton Utilities June 2018 Financial Summary, Stoughton Utilities June 2018 Statistical Report

Motion by Hirsch, second by Jenson to approve the consent agenda. Motion carried 11-0.

OLD BUSINESS

Discussion and possible action regarding request from STI, Inc. for tax incremental financing assistance to facilitate the construction of a new administrative building. ***The Council may consider this item in closed session, pursuant to Wis. Stat. 19.85 (1) (e), to

consider the City's bargaining position with the possible negotiation of a TIF grant agreement.***

Motion by Duranczyk, second by Boersma to convene in closed session at 8:00 p.m. On roll call vote, motion carried 11-0.

Motion by to open at 8:45 by Jenson, second by Majewski to convene in open session at 8:45 p.m. Motion carried 11-0

NEW BUSINESS

<u>R-155 -2018-</u> Approving an extra-territorial jurisdictional (ETJ) land division (CSM) request by Gary and Nancy Dvorak for property located at 1471 US Highway 51, Town of Rutland, Dane County, Wisconsin.

Motion by Bartlett, second by Jenson to approve R-155-2018 Approving an extra-territorial jurisdictional (ETJ) land division (CSM) request by Gary and Nancy Dvorak for property located at 1471 US Highway 51, Town of Rutland, Dane County, Wisconsin. Motion carried 11-0.

<u>Discussion and possible action approving contract for Phase 2 Environmental Site Assessment for the McFarland State bank Property</u>

Motion by Duranczyk, second by Reeves to award the phase II Environmental Site Assessment for the McFarland State Bank Property to Resource Engineering Associates. Motion by Duranczyk, second by Reeves to amend to include that the money come from contingency by Duranczyk, second by Reeves. Motion carried 11-0.

Original motion as amended carried 11-0.

Adjournment:

Motion by Jenson, second by Majewski to adjourn at 8:45 p.m. Motion carried 11-0.