Meeting of: COMMON COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF STOUGHTON

Date/Time: Tuesday, April 16, 2019 @ 6:00 P.M.

Location: Council Chambers at the Public Safety Building (2nd floor)

321 South Fourth Street, Stoughton, Wisconsin

Members: Mayor Tim Swadley, Matt Bartlett, Sid Boersma, Phil Caravello, Denise

Duranczyk, Regina Hirsch, Greg Jenson, Kathleen Johnson, Tom Majewski,

Pat O'Connor, Lisa Reeves, Timothy Riley, and Ben Heili

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Swadley called the meeting to order at 6:03 p.m.

Roll Call

Clerk Licht called the roll and noted that there were 11 alders present. Majewski was absent and excused.

Posting of Colors

The Stoughton American Legion presented the colors.

Pledge of Allegiance

Boersma led the Council in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Oath of Office and Seating of Incoming Alderpersons

Clerk Licht swore in alders Riley, Schumacher, Ligocki and Doom. The alders took their place at the table.

Roll Call

Clerk Licht called the roll and noted there were 11 alders present. Majewski was absent and excused.

ORGANIZATIONAL BUSINESS

Council Elections: Council President and Vice President

Boersma nominated Jenson for Council President. Hirsch nominated Majewski for Council President. Alderpersons voted by paper ballot and the results were as follows: Bartlett—Jenson, Boersma—Jenson, Doom—Jenson, Schumacher—Jenson, Jenson—Jenson, Caravello—Majewski, Ligocki—Majewski, Riley—Majewski, Hirsch—Majewski, Heili—Majewski, Reeves—Majewski. Majewski was elected Council President on a vote of 6-5.

Boersma nominated Jenson for Council Vice President. Hirsch nominated Reeves. Hirsch withdrew her nomination as Reeves declined. The council voted unanimously in favor of Jenson. Jenson was election Council Vice President.

R-50-2019- Confirmation of Mayor's Aldermanic Appointments to Standing Committees

Motion by Jenson, second by Reeves to approve R-50-2019 Confirmation of Mayor's Aldermanic Appointments to Standing Committees. Motion carried 11-0.

<u>R-51-2019-</u> Confirmation of Mayor's Aldermanic Appointments to Non-Standing Boards, Committees and Commissions

Motion by Boersma, second by Jenson to approve R-51-2019 Confirmation of Mayor's Aldermanic Appointments to Non-Standing Boards, Committees and Commissions. Motion carried 11-0.

R-52- 2019-Confirmation of Mayor's Citizen Appointments to Boards, Committees and Commissions

Motion by Hirsch, second by Jenson to approve R-52-2019 Confirmation of Mayor's Citizen Appointments to Boards, Committees and Commissions. Motion carried 11-0.

R-53-2019- Designation of Public Depositories and Authorized Signatures

Motion by Jenson, second by Bartlett to approve R-53-2019 Designation of Public Depositories and Authorized Signatures. Motion carried 11-0.

R- 54-2019- Designation of Official Newspaper

Motion by Reeves, second by Hirsch to approve R-54-2019 Designation of Official Newspaper. Motion carried 11-0.

<u>R-55-2019</u>- Approving the Mayor's Appointments to the Redevelopment Authority Motion by Jenson, second by Hieli to approve R-55-2019 Approving the Mayor's Appointments to the Redevelopment Authority. Motion carried 10-0 with Boersma abstaining.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion by Jenson, second by Reeves to adjourn at 6:27 p.m. Motion carried 11-0.