Meeting of: COMMON COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF STOUGHTON

Date/Time: Tuesday, April 17, 2018 @ 6:00 p.m.

Location: Council Chambers (2nd Floor of Public Safety Building)

321 South Fourth Street, Stoughton, Wisconsin

Members: Mayor Donna Olson, Tim Swadley, Matt Bartlett, Sid Boersma, Michael

Engelberger, Regina Hirsch, Greg Jenson, Kathleen Johnson, Denise Duranczyk, Tom Majewski, Pat O'Connor, Lisa Reeves, and Scott Truehl

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Olson called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Roll Call

Clerk Licht called the roll and noted that there were 11 alderpersons present.

Posting of Colors

The Stoughton American Legion posted the colors.

Pledge of Allegiance

Boersma led the Council in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Oath of Office and Seating of the Mayor and Incoming Alderpersons

Clerk Licht swore in Mayor Swadley and Alders Boersma, Caravello, Hirsch and Wiessinger.

Roll Call, Communications, and Presentations

Clerk Licht called the roll and noted that there were 11 alderpersons present.

Boersma announced that there will be a community retirement party for Mayor Donna Olson on April 18th at the Fire Station at 4:00 p.m.

Hirsch thanked Truehl and Engelberger for their service to the council and Mayor Olson for her work as Mayor.

ORGANIZATIONAL BUSINESS

Council Elections: Council President and Vice President

Duranczyk nominated Majewski for Council President. Bartlett nominated Jenson for Council President. Johnson nominated Hirsch for Council President. Hirsch withdrew her name. Alderpersons voted by paper ballot and the results were as follows: O'Connor—Jenson, Jenson—Jenson, Bartlett—Jenson, Boersma—Jenson, Reeves—Majewski, Hirsch—Majewski, Duranczyk—Majewski, Johnson—Majewski, Majewski—Majewski, Wiessinger—Majewski, Caravello—Majewski. Majewski was elected Council President on a vote of 7-4.

Boersma nominated Jenson for Council Vice President. Majewski nominated Regina Hirsch for Council Vice President. Alderpersons voted by paper ballot and the results were as follows: Boersma—Jenson, Jenson—Jenson, Reeves—Jenson, Bartlett—Jenson, O'Connor—Jenson, Hirsch—Hirsch, Caravello—Hirsch, Majewski—Hirsch, Wiessinger—Hirsch, Duranczyk—Hirsch, Johnson—Hirsch. Hirsch was elected Council Vice President on a vote of 6-5.

R-79-2018- Confirmation of Mayor's Aldermanic Appointments to Standing Committees

Motion by Duranczyk, second by Jenson to approve R-79-2018 confirming the Mayor's aldermanic appointments to standing committees. Motion carried 11-0.

<u>R-80-2018-</u> Confirmation of Mayor's Appointments to Non-Standing Boards, Committees and Commissions

Motion by Jenson, second by Duranczyk to approve R-80-2018 confirming the Mayor's appointments to non-standing committees and commissions.

Motion by Jenson, second by Boersma to amend the original motion and confirm RDA appointments separately as they need 4/5 vote. Motion carried 11-0.

Original motion as amended carried 11-0.

R-81-2018- Confirmation of Mayor's Citizen Appointments to Boards, Committees and Commissions

Motion by Hirsch, second by Jenson to approve R-81-2018 Confirming the Mayor's Citizen Appointments to Boards, Committees and Commissions.

Motion by Jenson, second by Duranczyk to remove John Buetel from the Arts Council as he would no longer like to serve. Motion carried 11-0.

Motion by Jenson, second by Boersma to amend the motion and confirm RDA appointments separately as they need 4/5 vote. Motion carried 11-0.

Original motion as amended carried 11-0.

R-82-2018- Designation of Public Depositories and Authorized Signatures

Motion by Boersma, second by Jenson to approve R-82-2018 Designation of Public Depositories and Authorized Signatures. Motion carried 11-0.

R-83-2018- Designation of Official Newspaper

Motion by O'Connor, second by Jenson to approve R-83-2018 Designating the Official Newspaper. Motion carried 11-0.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion by Jenson, second by O'Connor to adjourn at 6:25 p.m.